Resources

About Editing

Style Guides 

Citation Styles

Links for Writers

Plain English

Legal - Ireland

Legal - UK

History & Archaeology

Heritage

Information Technology

The Community & Voluntary Sector 

About Editing

Association of Freelance Editors, Proofreaders & Indexers: www.afepi.ie

Publishing Ireland/Foilsiú Éireann: www.publishingireland.com

The Society for Editors and Proofreaders: www.sfep.org.uk

Style Guides

Elements of Style by William Strunk (a classic style manual): www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/37134

The Economist Style Guide: www.economist.com/styleguide/introduction

The Guardian Style Guide: www.theguardian.com/styleguide

Citation Styles

College Student's Guide to Citation Styles: www.wgu.edu/info/college-students-guide-citation-styles 

Harvard Style Guide: libweb.anglia.ac.uk/referencing/harvard.htm

Harvard Style Guide: www.swinburne.edu.au/lib/studyhelp/harvard_style.html

Style for Students (useful for academic terms and conventions): www.e-education.psu.edu/styleforstudents/c1.html

Links for Writers

Dublin City of Literature: www.dublincityofliterature.ie

Dublin Writers' Museum: www.writersmuseum.com

Irish Pages, A Journal of Contemporary Writing: www.irishpages.org

Irish Writers’ Centre/Áras na Scríbhneoirí: www.writerscentre.ie

Irish Writing Resouces: www.writing.ie

Library Catalogue for Ireland: www.borrowbooks.ie

Plain English

A Plain English Guide to Legal Terms 

Legal: Ireland

A Plain English Guide to Legal Terms: https://www.nala.ie/sites/default/files/publications/A%20plain%20English%20guide%20to%20legal%20terms_1.pdf

Bar Council of Ireland: www.lawlibrary.ie 

Houses of the Oireachtas: www.oireachtas.ie 

Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for Ireland: www.irishreports.ie

Irish Legal Information Initiative: www.ucc.ie/law/irlii/index.php

Irish Statutes: www.irishstatutebook.ie

Law Society of Ireland: www.lawsociety.ie

Online library of UK, Irish, EU and international case law and legislation: www.justis.com  

OSCOLA legal citation - Ireland: www.legalcitation.ie

Legal: UK

British and Irish Legal Information Institute: www.bailii.org

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations: www.legalabbrevs.cardiff.ac.uk 

Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales: www.iclr.co.uk 

Legal Dictionary: legal-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com

Online legal research: www.justcite.com

OSCOLA legal citation - UK: www.law.ox.ac.uk/published/OSCOLA_4th_edn_Hart_2012.pdf 

UK Statute Law Database: www.legislation.gov.uk

History & Archaeology

Archaeological excavations database: www.excavations.ie

Celtic encyclopaedia: www.maryjones.us

Census 1901 & 1911: www.census.nationalarchives.ie

Down Survey: www.downsurvey.tcd.ie

Federation of Local History Societies/Conascadh na gCumann Staire Áitiúla: www.localhistory.ie

Free Digital Humanities Resource for Irish History, Literature and Politics: www.ucc.ie/celt

Irish archaeology: www.irisharchaeology.ie

Irish History Online: www.irishhistoryonline.ie

National Library of Ireland: www.nli.ie

Online archive of British documents relating to Ireland: www.dippam.com 

Royal Irish Academy: www.ria.ie

Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland: www.rsai.ie

Heritage

Electronic Dictionary of the Irish Language: www.dil.ie

Heritage Council: www.heritagecouncil.ie

Irish Heritage: www.heritageireland.ie

Placenames Database of Ireland: www.logainm.ie

Information Technology

An online dictionary of information technology terms: www.webopedia.com

Collaborative software development: www.github.com

Irish Internet Association: www.iia.ie

News and information for the IT community: www.computerweekly.com

The Community & Voluntary Sector

Citizens' Information Board: www.citizensinformationboard.ie

Department of Social Protection: www.welfare.ie

Online Network for Irish Non-profit Organisations: www.activelink.ie

The National Volunteer Development Agency: www.volunteer.ie   

Writing guides

Academic Writing Guide

Style for Students

Referencing guides

Anglia Ruskin University: Harvard System

Imperial College London: Citing & Referencing: Harvard Style

Imperial College London: Vancouver Referencing Guide

UCD: Harvard Referencing Guide

Dictionaries (free, online)

Collins: www.collinsdictionary.com

The Free Dictionary: www.thefreedictionary.com

Grammar in the media

Misplaced commas: New York Times: Tricky Little Things

The singular 'they': Guardian newspaper: Sexist Language: it's every man for him or herself

The singular 'they': Economist: Singular "they": everyone has their own opinion

Specialisations: Law

Irish Statutes

OSCOLA legal citation guide (adapted for Ireland)

OSCOLA (UK)

Specialisations: Engineering

Dictionary of engineering terms

 

P E R F E C T L Y  W R I T E

P R O O F R E A D I N G, E D I T I N G, W R I T I N G